As Asians, we’ve been told to score high on our exams, but getting full marks on JPJ (Road Transport Department)’s new demerit system won’t be a good thing.

The department has introduced a new system which will penalise motorist for every 20 points scored. The Kejara system will be enforced from 15th April onwards for 2 offences – speeding and running a red light – for now.

Source: Sham Hardy

For those who hold a competent driving license (CDL), obtaining a total of 20 points will cause you to be given your first warning. If you score a further 20 points, your driving license will be suspended for 6 to 8 months. After scoring 60 points, your license will face an 8 to 10-month suspension. This will be followed by a 10 to 12-month suspension for the subsequent 20 points. After scoring a total of 100 points, your license will be revoked.


Of course, the driver of the vehicle and not the owner will be penalised. JPJ director-general Datuk Seri Nadzri Siron also said that the license will be revoked if an offender gets suspended from driving 3 times within 5 years.

Meanwhile, those with a probationary driving licence (PDL) will have their license revoked once they get 20 points.

Source: The Star Online

Points will be deducted for the following offences:

  • Running a red light
    • 4 points for private vehicles
    • 6 points for commercial vehicles (buses and lorries)
  • Speeding (depending on the speed)
    • 2-4 points for private vehicles
    • 4-6 points for commercial vehicles

Demerit points will be added once the offenders pay their compounds or are convicted in traffic court. And if you don’t pay in time or miss your court date, you’ll be automatically penalised. Your license will also be revoked or suspended once you hand it in at a JPJ office or 21 days after the issuance of the notice.

If your driving license has been revoked, don’t fret – you’ll be able to apply for a new one after a year. Those who have fewer than 20 demerit points may also attend a rehabilitation course to shave 50% off their points. And if your last traffic offence was a year ago, 50% of your demerit points will be removed.

Source: The Star Online

Kejara will also be integrated with the AES (Automated Enforcement System) as part of the Automated Awareness Safety System (Awas). Under Awas, which was introduced on 1st April, those who are caught beating the traffic light or speeding by the automated cameras will be penalised. Aside from accumulating demerit points, you’ll also be charged with a RM150 fine from the existing AES.

The authorities are only clamping down on 2 offences as of now, but 23 more offences are expected to be included in the future. This includes overloading, drunk driving, using mobile phones while driving, not wearing a seat belt, not wearing a helmet, and ignoring police instructions.

Sources: The Star Online, NST.

Previous article#Puchong: Video Of Man Attacking Dog Goes Viral; Police Will Not Take Action
Next article#MANxMAN: Netflix To Simulcast New Korean Original Series In Over 20 Languages Globally
Talk to her about k-pop, food, books, or Robert Downey Jr and she'll never shut up.