Barely a month since “The Avengers: Age of Ultron” opened in theatres, Marvel is already revving the engine on its next big superhero team-up!

The studio announced that principal photography has begun on “Captain America 3” aka “Captain America: Civil War” while detailing the main cast for the movie, amongst other things. Trust us when we say that the cast is cray cray.

Source: screencrush
Source: screencrush

Obviously, Chris Evans‘ Captain America is starring in the film, but Marvel also announced that no less than 7 other existing Avengers will also be showing up. Yes, S-E-V-E-N.


Count ’em:

  • Iron Man (played by Robert Downey Jr.)
  • Black Widow (played by Scarlett Johansson)
  • Hawkeye (played by Jeremy Renner)
  • Falcon (played by Anthony Mackie)
  • War Machine (played by Don Cheadle)
  • The Vision (played by Paul Bettany)
  • Scarlet Witch (played by Elizabeth Olsen)

But that’s not all.

“Captain America: Civil War” is also going to feature Paul Rudd’s Ant-Man, a character that audiences won’t even formally meet until this July.

Captain America Civil War Cast
Source: etonline

And that’s still not all!

The movie is also going to feature Black Panther (played by Chadwick Boseman), Agent 13 (played by Emily VanCamp of “Revenge” fame), Crossbones (played by Frank Grillo), the return of William Hurt as General Thunderbolt Ross, and both Daniel Brühl (of “The Fifth Estate” fame), and Martin Freeman (of “Sherlock” fame) in unnamed roles.

According to Marvel, the film’s plot is as follows:

“Captain America: Civil War” picks up where “Avengers: Age of Ultron” left off, as Steve Rogers leads the new team of Avengers in their continued efforts to safeguard humanity. After another international incident involving the Avengers results in collateral damage, political pressure mounts to install a system of accountability and a governing body to determine when to enlist the services of the team. The new status quo fractures the Avengers while they try to protect the world from a new and nefarious villain.

You could say that the it might just be the most jam-packed film in Marvel’s history. As Yahoo’s Jordan Zakarin put it, this is more Avengers 2.5 than “Captain America 3”, and we’re inclined to agree with him:


“Captain America: Civil War” is slated to be released on 6th May 2016. The production will shoot on location in Atlanta, Georgia, which serves as the base for the film’s production, as well as locations in Germany, Puerto Rico, and Iceland.

In other news, Marvel is also pulling out all the stops for its last big team-up because “Avengers: Infinity War Part I and Part 2” are both being filmed using IMAX cameras exclusively, according to Variety. This would mark the first Marvel films crafted entirely for IMAX screens.

Be right back, trying to catch our breaths!

Source: MarvelThe Verge.

Previous article#Avengers: “Infinity War” Films To Be Shot Entirely With IMAX Cameras
Next article#EXO: Tao Arrives In US To Receive Treatment & Study Abroad
Eats, sleeps, & breathes music, but drinks mostly coffee & okay, some wine - sometimes, a little too much. A little too obsessed with the number seven, is deathly afraid of horror movies, believes that she writes better than she speaks, & currently feeling a little strange writing a profile about herself.