David Ayer’s “Suicide Squad” is nowhere near its release date yet, but we’ve already seen so much from the movie. For the past few months, Ayer has been releasing a series of behind-the-scenes photos of his upcoming antihero film, giving DC Comics fans a brief glimpse at the cast’s transformation into the characters.

Of course, it is still too early to say that they’re the final products because the movie only began filming in Toronto last month. However, after surprising us with an official photo of Jared Leto as The Joker, the director has finally revealed the first official photo of the entire cast in costume.

That’s right. The Task Force X was assembled and they’re ready to get into their missions.


The cast members who were featured in the photo are Will SmithMargot Robbie, Jai CourtneyJoel KinnamanCara Delevingne, Karen Fukuhara, Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje, Jay Hernandez, and Adam Beach.

Contrary to popular belief, Beach will be portraying Slipknot instead of Ravan. Karen Fukuhara, who was featured in the first cast photo, is joining the cast as Katana, a superb samurai who uses her deadly sword, The Soultaker, to fight evil around the world. The sword contains the soul of every person killed by it and Katana can communicate with those souls. Fukahara was previously rumoured to play Plastique.

The cast photo also confirmed that Jay Hernandez will be portraying El Diablo, who is rumoured to be a prisoner being held in the criminal part of the prison with Killer Frost, Block Buster, King Shark, and Live Wire.

“Suicide Squad” is based on the original DC Comic of the same name, where a group of supervillains find themselves going on a most unlikely mission for a shot at redemption. However, the mission will probably kill them all.

Common, Jim Parrack, Scott Eastwood, Ike Barinholtz, Alex Meraz, and Raymond Olubowale have joined the cast, but their roles have yet to be revealed. David Harbour was spotted on set of the movie too, but it is unclear whether he will be joining the cast. Viola Davis will star in the movie as Amanda Waller.


Suicide Squad

Soon after Ayer posted the full cast photo, a full close-up shot of Will Smith in the Deadshot costume was revealed online as well.

Check it out:

Charles Roven and Richard Suckle serve as the producers of the film, which will be executive produced by Zack Snyder, Deborah Snyder, Colin Wilson, and Geoff Johns. Ayer is attached to direct it, based on Justin Marks’ screenplay.

Slated for release on 5th August 2016, “Suicide Squad” is part of Warner Bros.’ DC Cinematic Universe.

The full DC films slate is as follows:

  • Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice –  25th March 2016
  • Suicide Squad – 5th August 2016
  • Wonder Woman – 23rd June 2017
  • Justice League Part One – 17th November 2017
  • The Flash – 23rd March 2018
  • Aquaman – 27th July 2018
  • Shazam – 5th April 2019
  • Justice League Part Two – 14th June 2019
  • Cyborg – 3rd April 2020
  • Green Lantern – 19th June 2020

So, what do you think of the cast photo? Are you excited for the movie yet? Share your thoughts in the comments box below.

Previous article#RoyalBaby: And Her Name Is Charlotte Elizabeth Diana
Next article#AvengersAgeOfUltron: Director Explains Loki’s Absence From The Movie
Adrina was our former writer and now contributes to Hype. Find out what she's up to on her IG: @moonsglowslow.