The Perak government has declared 6th May a state public holiday to commemorate the enthronement of Sultan Nazrin Shah as the 35th Sultan of Perak.

Perak, one of the 13 states of Malaysia, is the 4th largest state in the country. It borders Kedah and the Thai Yala Province to the north; Penang to the northwest; Kelantan and Pahang to the east; Selangor to the south, and the Straits of Malacca to the west.


Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Dr Zambry Abdul Kadir made the announcement after chairing an executive council meeting at the Perak Darul Ridzuan Building, here, Wednesday.


“Regarding the enthronement, it will be announced by Orang Kaya Bendahara Seri Maharaja, General (Retired) Tan Sri Mohd Zahidi Zainuddin,” he said.

During the Tabak Adat ceremony, 2 important events will take place, namely the proclamation of the Perak Ruler’s enthronement followed by the proclamation of the Raja Permaisuri of Perak.

Perak Flag

Source: Bernama, Perak Wiki / Featured image via

Previous article#TIME: Leonardo DiCaprio & Priyanka Chopra Among 100 Most Influential People For 2016
Next article#MaxisONE: Maxis Now Offering Data Upgrade To 20GB For ONE Plan Users
Eats, sleeps, & breathes music, but drinks mostly coffee & okay, some wine - sometimes, a little too much. A little too obsessed with the number seven, is deathly afraid of horror movies, believes that she writes better than she speaks, & currently feeling a little strange writing a profile about herself.