(UPDATE) Hype’s Now Playing: Disclosure – Magnets (Ft. Lorde)

Music “royal”ty (no pun intended) Lorde dominates the world again with her hauntingly beautiful vocals in “Magnets”, a song she collaborated with producers Guy and Howard Lawrence of Disclosure.

The song premiered on Zane Lowe’s BBC Radio 1 show Wednesday afternoon before the release of Disclosure’s sophomore album “Caracal” today.

Disclosure - Magnets (Ft. Lorde)

“Magnets” was highly anticipated by fans because it is Lorde’s first new song since she released “Yellow Flicker Beat” for “The Hunger Games: Mockingjay — Part 1” soundtrack.

Regarding her collaboration with the British sibling duo, she told Lowe (via Mashable) that “she related to them” because they were all so young and often unable to attend shows at the venues they’re playing.

The song is about the moment you’re about to do something wrong and you’re not in your right mind because you’re blinded by how badly you want to do whatever it is.

And sometimes you’re coerced by someone, ‘C’mon let’s do it you’ll enjoy it, just let go,’ and sometimes you’re doing the coercing,” she added.


Lorde previously performed together with Disclosure and AlunaGeorge at the 2014 BRIT Awards for the combined version of “Royals” and “White Noise”.

Her latest collaborative track with Disclosure is featured in “Caracal”, the follow up to the sibling duo’s debut album, “Seattle”. It is one star-studded album as multiple award-winning artistes such as Sam SmithThe Weeknd, and Miguel are lending their talents to the LP too.

The full track list of “Caracal” is as follows:


  1. Nocturnal (feat. The Weeknd)
  2. Omen(feat. Sam Smith)
  3. Holding On (feat. Gregory Porter)
  4. Hourglass (feat. Lion Babe)
  5. Willing and Able (feat. Kwabs)
  6. Magnets (feat. Lorde)
  7. Jaded
  8. Good Intentions (feat. Miguel)
  9. Superego (feat. Nao)
  10. Echoes
  11. Masterpiece (feat. Jordan Rakei)
  12. Molecules
  13. Moving Mountains (feat. Brendan Reilly)
  14. Bang That
  15. Afterthought

Listen to “Magnets” below:

“Caracal” is currently available for purchase on Apple’s iTunes.

UPDATE (30th September, 9:31am):

Disclosure has dropped the official music video for “Magnets”, a song they collaborated with Kiwi pop star Lorde.

Lorde showed off her acting chops as she is starring in the video as the main protagonist. It’s a side that we’ve never seen from her as she plays a seductive woman in raunchy scenes, but that’s before she donned black leather to take a brutal revenge on the douchebag who’s determined to shake her.

As explained on her Twitter, the video fulfilled one of her life goals to “burns alive douchey boyfriends”:



Watch the music video for “Magnets” below:

For more music updates from Disclosure, visit their official website, FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.