In order to maintain the safety and health of those living in Malaysia, citizens living in selected parts of the world are currently barred from entering the country.

It was reported yesterday (Monday, 7th September) that long-term pass holders from 23 countries are prohibited from visiting Malaysia. This is due to the fact that these are high-risk countries and have recorded over 150,000 Covid-19 cases.

Source: Strait Times

As listed by the Immigration Department on its official Facebook account, the 23 countries include:

  • Argentina
  • Bangladesh
  • Brazil
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • France
  • Germany
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Italy
  • Mexico
  • Pakistan
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Russia
  • Saudi Arabia
  • South Africa
  • Spain
  • Turkey
  • United Kingdom
  • United States
Source: Facebook

As per report, the ban involves 6 categories of pass holders:

  1. Those with permanent resident status (PR).
  2. Malaysia My Second Home (MM2H) programme participants.
  3. Expatriates including professional visit pass (PVP) holders and resident pass holders.
  4. Spouses of Malaysian citizens and their children from the aforementioned countries.
  5. Students from the aforementioned countries.

Senior Minister (Security Cluster) Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob previously announced that Malaysians from high risk countries are allowed to return home. However, they would need to undergo a 2-week quarantine and require permission from the Immigration Department.

Source: AFP

Source: Bernama.

Previous articleIs Datuk Sri Siti Nurhaliza Pregnant With Her Second Child?
Next articleSyed Saddiq & Hannah Yeoh Call Out Rahim For Cyberbullying Veveonah
Usually awkward & quiet, but gets talkative once the conversation revolves around movies, TV shows, music, and entertainment. (Contact: [email protected])