SONEs (as Girls’ Generation’s fans are lovingly known), Seohyun (서현) has finally released her first solo mini album!

As promised, SM Entertainment has dropped the music video for her title track, “Don’t Say No”, at midnight today (Tuesday, 17th January).

Source: SM Entertainment
Source: SM Entertainment

During Seohyun’s showcase at the SM Town Coex Atrium last night, she mentioned that she is very proud of her solo album because she participated in all parts of the production. She added that she wrote the lyrics for 6 out of 7 songs in her album.


“Our company is very strict. I’ve submitted lyrics for Girls’ Generation and TTS songs in the past, but 90 percent of them didn’t pass. They said it would be unlikely that I’d be able to use my own lyrics in my solo album, but I told them I would give it my all and worked really hard on every single song. I was really glad when one of my lyrics passed, but then my other lyrics passed one by one, and I was very happy,” she said.

When asked about clashing with miss A’s Suzy debut, she replied, “In the past, (both our groups) had a ‘girl power’ image at a time when there were lots of boy groups in the industry. If people thought of us as rivals, that means that the concept of ‘girl power’ has matured. This time we’re also promoting at the same time but I’m grateful that we can work hard together and stimulate each other.”

Source: SM Entertainment
Source: SM Entertainment

Co-written by Kenzie (who penned Girls’ Generation’s “Oh” and EXO’s “Monster”) and Matthew Tishler, “Don’t Say No” is a R&B pop track about asking a past lover to return.

The music video shows Seohyun making an effort to please her man but throughout the video, it’s pretty obvious that he is unhappy with their relationship. From metal chain spaghetti to screw nut cake toppings, the abstract video is undoubtedly a colourful affair.

At first glance, we thought that the male model resembles her “Moon Lovers: Scarlet Heart Ryeo”co-star, Nam Joo Hyuk. Too bad that it isn’t though 🙁 Any Wang Baek Ah and Princess Woo Hee shippers out there?


Seohyun’s “Don’t Say No” mini album consists of 7 tracks including “Hello” (featuring Eric Nam), “Magic”, “Bad Love”, “Lonely Love” (혼자 하는 사랑), “Moonlight” (달빛), and “Love & Affection”.


For more information, visit Girls’ Generation’s official Facebook page.

Sources: Soompi (1), (2).

Previous article#TRECKL: An Electric Carnival Comes To Town For Electric Boulevard’s 1st Anni
Next article#Marvel: “Black Panther” Spoilers Reveal That Origin Story Will Include T’Challa Studying Abroad
Love new experiences and the colour purple. Did I also mention that I am obsessed with K-pop as much as I am with food?