Sam Smith‘s “Writing’s On The Wall” ought to be the “James Bond” theme song that you will be listening to for a long time (and then become obsessed with) until the release of “Spectre” next month.

The award-winning British singer premiered the song, which he collaborated with DJ/producer duo Disclosure, on 25th September on Spotify.

Sam Smith - Writing's On The Wall


Swapping between his baritone and falsetto, the singer left us speechless with his lush, powerful vocals over an elegant orchestral backing.

It surely is one of the more emotional tracks for the new James Bond movie, as the lyrics include:

If I risk it all / Could you break my heart? / How do I live?/ How do I breathe? / When you’re not here, I’m suffocating

The song reunited Smtih with Jimmy Napes, the same songwriter who co-wrote his Grammy-winning song, “Stay With Me”. Disclosure, which consists of producers Guy and Howard Lawrence, was credited as official producer for the song.

After releasing the track, Smith tweeted:


Smith told Radio 1 presenter Nick Grimshaw (via Telegraph):

I’m so relieved to actually talk about this, this has been top secret mission of my own. I got called into the office with Barbara Broccoli and Sam Mendes and they gave me the script, I read the script… they said, “Have a go at the song.”

It’s the quickest I’ve ever written a song – it took 20 minutes – and they loved it! I love the song so much,” he added.

Welp, for a song that’s written in 20 minutes, we would say that it’s really, really impressive because “Writing’s On The Wall” is so good!

Listen to it below:

UPDATE (5th October, 1:07pm):

EON Productions, MGM, Sony Pictures, and Capitol Records have just dropped the official music video for Sam Smith’s “Writing’s On The Wall”.

It is the official theme song for the 24th James Bond film, “SPECTRE”. Featuring some clips from the film, the Bond-themed music video showed Smith in a classy black suit as he sings the emotional ballad.

Check it out below:

Directed by Sam Mendes, “Spectre” stars Daniel Craig as Bond, Christoph Waltz as Oberhauser, Ralph Fiennes as M, Naomie Harris as Moneypenny, and Andrew Scott as Denbigh. It is due to be released in Malaysian cinemas on 6th November 2015.

For more information, visit the movie’s official website and stay tuned for more music updates from Sam Smith’s official Facebook page and Twitter.

Previous article#SNSD: Yoona Officially Jumps On The Instagram Bandwagon, Completes Group
Next article#MagicForAll: Exploring Childhood Dreams With Mr. Tadashi Yanai & Josh Silverman
Adrina was our former writer and now contributes to Hype. Find out what she's up to on her IG: @moonsglowslow.