This year’s MTV Movie Awards might just be the best award ceremony of the year because Robert Downey Jr. will be honoured with the MTV Generation Award.

Downey is best known for his role as Iron Man in the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU). He received praises from critics and mass audiences alike for his performances in all the “Iron Man” films. All 3 films have had tremendous box office success.

Robert Downey Jr Iron Man


As one of Hollywood’s most versatile actors, Robert Downey Jr. is set to receive the MTV Generation Award, which will be presented by his “Avengers: Age of Ultron” co-stars Chris Evans, Scarlett Johansson, Chris Hemsworth, Mark Ruffalo, and Jeremy Renner.

Stephen Friedman, President of MTV said in a statement, “Throughout his career, Robert Downey Jr. has mesmerized audiences by capturing the humanity in larger-than-life characters like Charlie Chaplin, Sherlock Holmes and Tony Stark.”

He added:

He’s a brilliant actor and a Hollywood icon, and we are proud to recognise his tremendous passion and talent with this year’s Generation Award.

It came as no surprise that Downey, who is also a 2-time Academy Awards nominee, will be receiving the MTV Generation Award because it is the “Movie Awards” highest honour, acknowledging an actor who has engaged the MTV audience throughout their career.

Past recipients include Mark Wahlberg, Jamie Foxx, Johnny Depp, Reese Witherspoon, Ben Stiller, Adam Sandler, Sandra Bullock, Mike Myers, Tom Cruise, and Jim Carrey.


As if the appearance of the “Avengers: Age of Ultron” cast isn’t enough to bring joy to the award ceremony, an exclusive 90-second clip from the blockbuster film will be introduced during the telecast.


That’s right, everyone. It is the clip you’ll only get to see at the MTV Movie Awards 😀

Amy Schumer will host the award ceremony while Trailblazer Award recipient Shailene Woodley and Comedic Genius recipient Kevin Hart will attend alongside confirmed presenters Miles Teller, Reese Witherspoon, Vin Diesel, Sofia Vergara, and Jimmy Kimmel.

Fans can cast their votes for their favourites at the award ceremony’s official website through Saturday (11th April). Voting for “Movie of the Year” will continue throughout the live broadcast of the show.

In addition, the “Best Hero” award will be presented by Mountain Dew Kickstart and fans can begin voting today via social media hashtags.

The list of nominees is as follows:

  • Bilbo Baggins (The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies) – #VoteBilboMTV
  • Katniss Everdeen (The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1) – #VoteKatnissMTV
  • Star-Lord (Guardians of the Galaxy) – #VoteStarLordMTV
  • Thomas (The Maze Runner) – #VoteThomasMTV
  • Tris Prior (The Divergent Series: Insurgent) – #VoteTrisMTV

The 2015 MTV Movie Awards will air live on Monday (13th April) at 7am (TH/WIB), 8am (PH/SG) and 9am (MY) from Nokia Theater L.A. Live in Los Angeles, California. The main show repeats on the same day at 6.30pm (WIB), 7.30pm (PH/SG), 8.30pm (MY) and 9.30pm (TH).

Previous articleLee Kuan Yew: Singaporean Boy Behind Death Hoax Gets “Stern Warning”
Next article#Snowden: First Look At Shailene Woodley As Lindsay Mills
Adrina was our former writer and now contributes to Hype. Find out what she's up to on her IG: @moonsglowslow.