At #AppleLive yesterday, Bono announced that U2 would be releasing their 13th studio album, “Songs Of Innocence” for free via iTunes. The album will be an iTunes exclusive until mid-October. After performing the phenomenal single, it was revealed that the album would be available for free to iTunes half a billion subscribers.

Half a billion, subscribers, yo. In case you missed it, watch the announcement video below:


This isn’t the first time that U2 is collaborating with Apple. In 2004, U2 collaborated on a special edition (RED) iPod. Also, if a certain icon on the Apple iPhone and iPod touch looks familiar, it’s because the Apple interface design team modelled it to look like Bono.

Mind blown? But we digress.

U2 Songs of Innocence

“Songs of Innocence” is U2’s most personal work to date, charting the band’s earliest influences from 70s rock and punk rock to early 80s electronica and ambient music and giving insight into how and why the band came together. The album deals with themes of home and family, relationships, and discovery and was recorded in Dublin, London, New York, and Los Angeles and is produced by Danger Mouse, along with Paul Epworth, Ryan Tedder, Declan Gaffney,and Flood.

The track listing for “Songs Of Innocence” is as follows:

  1. The Miracle (of Joey Ramone)
  2. Every Breaking Wave
  3. California (There Is No End To Love)
  4. Song For Someone
  5. Iris (Hold Me Close)
  6. Volcano
  7. Raised By Wolves
  8. Cedarwood Road
  9. Sleep Like A Baby Tonight
  10. This Is Where You Can Reach Me Now
  11. The Troubles

Watch the trailer for “The Miracle (of Joey Ramone)” here:

On another note, there has also been some confusing with the whole “gifting of U2’s latest album” move. Although Bono said that they’ll be giving out “Song of Innocence” for free on iTunes, it doesn’t mean that it’s free per se. As in, the band didn’t really “give” the album away. Bono told TIME, “We were paid. I don’t believe in free music. Music is a sacrament.”


He didn’t divulge what Apple shelled out for “Songs if Innocence” though. Well, whatever the price tag might’ve been, a free album is always good news to music fans!

Meanwhile, you may download U2’s album, “Songs of Innocence” for free here.

Previous article#TravelGuide: 6 Unique Places To Visit In KL & Selangor
Next articleFun Facts: 7 Reasons To Put Your Hands Up For The Stafford Brothers
Eats, sleeps, & breathes music, but drinks mostly coffee & okay, some wine - sometimes, a little too much. A little too obsessed with the number seven, is deathly afraid of horror movies, believes that she writes better than she speaks, & currently feeling a little strange writing a profile about herself.