Lorde will never be a “royal” and she knows it, which is why she’ll be curating a soundtrack album for all the districts in the hit sci-fi fantasy film, “The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1”!

After releasing a series of propaganda posters and teaser trailer of “The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1”,  Lionsgate announced that the Grammy award-winning artiste Lorde has been chosen to curate the soundtrack album for the film.


This isn’t the first time Lorde has sung for the film as the 17-year-old singer has previously covered the classic song “Everybody Wants to Rule The World” that was featured in the soundtrack album of “The Hunger Games: Catching Fire”. The cover caught the attention of the media as she put a modern twist on the song with her hauntingly beautiful voice.

As both a songwriter and performer, Lorde is known to constantly challenge herself and thus, jumped at the chance to curate the soundtrack album for the film. The album came via her unique relationship with her music publisher, SONGS Music Publishing who was the key architect of the deal.

Lorde The Hunger Games Mockingjay Part 1

On working on the soundtrack album, she said:

The cast and story are an inspiration for all musicians participating and, as someone with cinematic leanings, being privy to a different creative process has been a unique experience. I think the soundtrack is definitely going to surprise people.

Director Francis Lawrence also praised the artiste for “her immense talent and keen understanding of Mockingjay’s characters and themes”, which helped her create songs that “completely captures the film’s essence”.

“The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1” is the final instalment in “The Hunger Games” trilogy and stars Academy Award winner Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson, Liam Hemsworth, and Woody Harrelson. The soundtrack album will be released via Republic Records prior to the release of the film on 21st November. Guess we can expect to hear more Lorde awesomeness soon!

UPDATE (November 10th):


Following the release of Lorde’s first music video for the soundtrack album she curated for “The Hunger Games: Mockingjay  – Part 1”, the full track list of the album has also been released on the official soundtrack page:

The full track list is as follows:

  1. Meltdown – Stromae ft. Lorde, Pusha T, Q-Tip & Haim
  2. Dead Air – CHVRCHES
  3. Scream My Name – Tove Lo
  4. Kingdom – Charli XCX ft. Simon Le Bon
  5. All My Love – Major Lazer ft. Ariana Grande
  6. Lost Souls – Raury
  7. Yellow Flicker Beat – Lorde
  8. The Leap – Tinashe
  9. Plan The Escape (Son Lux Cover) – Bat For Lashes
  10. Original Beast – Grace Jones
  11. Flicker (Kanye West Rework) – Lorde
  12. Animal – XOV
  13. This Is Not A Game – The Chemical Brothers ft. Miguel
  14. Ladder Song – Lorde

The Grammy Award winning artiste has curated 14 songs in total for the soundtrack album, 4 of which are contributed by Lorde herself. Major Lazer has collaborated with Ariana Grande for a track called “All My Love” while The Chemical Brothers has collaborated with Miguel for another track called “This Is Not A Game“.

Lorde herself will be featured in a track from Stromae, alongside Pusha T, Q-Tip and Haim. Simon Le Bon is also set to be featured in a track from Charli XCX. Other artistes that have been included in Lorde’s soundtrack album includes CHVRCHES, Raury, Bat For Lashes, XOV, Tinashe, Tove Lo and Grace Jones. It has been reported that Kanye West will do a special rework of Lorde’s already released hit single “Yellow Flicker Beat” too.

Just few days after the release of the music video, Lorde’s “Yellow Flicker Beat” has already garnered over 1,000,000 views on YouTube. The song even soared to #1 on the Soundtrack Top Songs Chart when it was released on iTune store. “Yellow Flicker Beat” also made history for being the #1 Most Added song at Alternative Radio and become one of “Most Adds on a Female Artist in Mediabase History”.

For more information, visit Lorde’s Facebook page or Twitter and stay tuned for other updates on her Instagram account and Tumblr.


Previous articleYouTube Acapella Vocalist Peter Hollens Scores Sony Record Deal
Next articleHardwell — All You Need To Know About The World No. 1 DJ
Adrina was our former writer and now contributes to Hype. Find out what she's up to on her IG: @moonsglowslow.