Move aside, conventional boy bands. You’ve been there, done that, and made your point. The world is now ready for “rebels right down to their cores”, Max, Siva, Jay, Tom, and Nathan. Also known as the five-member London-based boy band, “The Wanted“.

Just last week, they took the stage at Surf Beach @ Sunway Lagoon, Malaysia and wowed their Malaysian fans with their first ever full-length concert. We can’t say enough how much of a success their show was – it left their fans (and even us) wanting more. So we picked up a copy of their first, self-titled US release, “The Wanted (Special Edition)“.


Let’s rewind.

We remember a time when “Glad You Came” was receiving lots of airplay on our local radio stations. It later evolved to being one of the clubs’ staple tracks to get people on to the dance floors. Apparently, it wasn’t that hard to get people singing along and dancing in a club:

[youtube id=”2ggzxInyzVE” width=”600″ height=”350″]

But the boys are no “one hit wonder”s. Soon after, it was revealed that the boy band had a bursting CV of other songs off their album which has nabbed spots UK’s Top 20 singles charts. They are, “All Time Low” (the lead single), “Lose My Mind”, and “Heart Vacancy”.

Our personal favourite is the sweet love ballad,  “Heart Vacancy”:

[youtube id=”0WUm0dN3Drs” width=”600″ height=”350″]

Yup. While they’re busy cashing in on face-paced dance-y music, they found time to squeeze in a little love song. Trust them to know how to pull at their fans’ heartstrings. “Heart Vacancy” was released as the album’s second promotional single and it has undoubtedly supported The Wanted’s rise to commercial success.

We love it!


Other songs such as, “Chasing The Sun” and “Warzone” are also bound to get stuck in your head if you’re not careful. On an indefinite loop, if it may. Undoubtedly, “Chasing The Sun” sounds like any other catchy pop song – but we have to admit, it’s the repetitive “Oh, oh, oh”s that gets to us.

“Warzone”, on the other hand, is slightly slower. Plus point? It includes a slight element of dubstep:

[youtube id=”yMR382aefmQ” width=”600″ height=”350″]


“The Wanted (Special Edition)” is, quite frankly, a nice mix good quality songs. It has already made waves in the UK (platinum!), has made waves in the US, and it will continue to make waves as long as you’re willing to listen. Full track listing as follows:

  1. Glad You Came
  2. Chasing The Sun
  3. All Time Low
  4. Satellite
  5. Lightning
  6. Heart Vacancy
  7. Gold Forever
  8. Lose My Mind
  9. Warzone
  10. Rocket

Go on, pick up a copy of their album. It’s available at a record store near you. Alternatively, you could purchase the album online here. You won’t regret it!

For more information, visit The Wanted’s official website.

Previous article12-Year-Old Miki In A Relationship With 24-Year-Old Muyi
Next articleBIGBANG Members On Seungri’s Case
Eats, sleeps, & breathes music, but drinks mostly coffee & okay, some wine - sometimes, a little too much. A little too obsessed with the number seven, is deathly afraid of horror movies, believes that she writes better than she speaks, & currently feeling a little strange writing a profile about herself.