While Flight Facilities’ “Crave You” is pretty much a song that most girls can relate to, Lana Del Rey takes things up a notch with “Music To Watch Boys To”, a song off her 4th album “Honeymoon”.

The “Brooklyn baby” singer first unveiled the song on Zane Lowe’s Beats 1 radio show last Wednesday (9th September).

Lana Del Rey Music To Watch Boys To


“Music To Watch Boys To” finds Del Rey resorting to a more hypnotic sound as it is less poppy than the previously released “High By The Beach“. It is nonetheless a radio-friendly track and according to Del Rey herself, it is one of her “favourites” on the album.

The song, which reunited Del Rey with her “Summertime Sadness” co-writer Rick Boyles , was originally her choice for her album’s first single. However, her label opted for “High By the Beach” instead. It joins the previously released “Terrence Loves You” and the strings-laden title track.


Back in January, Del Rey disclosed some details regarding ‘Music To Watch Boys To” while she was talking about her Golden Globes-nominated “Big Eyes” title track with the Los Angeles Times.

She said:

I can see it and I can hear it. I’m working on a new record now, and I have this one song, “Music to Watch Boys To”. The title lends itself to a visual of shadows of men passing by, this girl’s eyes, her face. I can definitely see things.

Del Rey’s new album is a 14-track album, which will consist of a cover of “Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood” (Nina Simone’s version).

The full track list is as follows:

  1. Honeymoon
  2. Music To Watch Boys To
  3. Terrence Loves You
  4. God Knows I Tried
  5. High By The Beach
  6. Freak
  7. Art Deco
  8. Burnt Norton (Interlude)
  9. Religion
  10. Salvatore
  11. The Blackest Day
  12. 24
  13. Swan Song
  14. Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood

Listen to the dreamy track below:

UPDATE (1st October, 2:06pm):

After blowing up a paparazzi helicopter with a grenade launcher in the “High By The Beach” music video, Lana Del Rey does what most ladies like to do – watch boys.

The official music video for “Music To Watch Boys To” is finally here and it shows Lana lounging beside a gramophone while admiring the boys of the title playing basketball from afar. It is slightly Sofia Coppola–inspired too, as she can be seen twirling around underwater with few of her friends.

Watch the dreamy music video below:

“Music to Watch Boys To” is now available for purchase on Apple’s iTunes. Her new LP, “Honeymoon”, is officially released on 18th September.

For more information, visit her official website and Facebook page.

Source: Rolling Stone.

Previous article#HyunA: MV For “Run & Run” With Exclusive BTS Footage Released
Next article#KirinMY: Sip On Frozen Beer At Malaysia’s First Kirin Ichiban Beer Garden
Adrina was our former writer and now contributes to Hype. Find out what she's up to on her IG: @moonsglowslow.