Malaysian motorists, take note!

The “Stormwater Management And Road Tunnel” or “SMART Tunnel” will start implementing an electronic toll collection system via only the Touch ‘n Go or SmartTAG for faster payments soon. The announcement was made via their official Twitter just today:

According to SMART Tunnel’s chief operating officer, Mohd Fuad Kamal Ariffin, Touch ‘n Go cards will be sold in toll lanes especially to those who do not have the card.

The shift to an electronic toll collection system is in line with 11 other toll plazas that will also go fully electronic beginning 9th September. They are as follows:

  1. Jitra Toll Plaza, North-South Expressway (PLUS)
  2. Bukit Kayu Hitam Toll Plaza (PLUS)
  3. Lunas Toll Plaza, Butterworth-Kulim Expressway (BKE)
  4. Kubang Semang Toll Plaza (BKE)
  5. Penang Bridge Toll Plaza
  6. Gombak Toll Plaza, Kuala Lumpur-Karak Highway (KLK).
  7. Bentong Toll Plaza (KLK)
  8. Dato Keramat Toll Plaza, Ampang–Kuala Lumpur Elevated Highway (AKLEH)
  9. Ayer Panas Toll Plaza, Duta-Ulu Kelang Expressway (DUKE)
  10. Sentul Pasar Toll Plaza (DUKE)
  11. Batu Toll Plaza (DUKE)

For further information, visit the “SMART Tunnel” website or Facebook page.

Toll Rates Malaysia

Queries regarding the implementation of this system can be directed to the MHA hotline at 1-800-88-7752 or any highway service centre.

Sources: “SMART Tunnel” Twitter, TMI.

Previous article#LegolandMY: Fire Breaks Out, Detroys Miniland’s Kuala Lumpur Landmarks
Next article#RIPJules: French Formula One Driver Jules Bianchi Dies 9 Months After Crash
Eats, sleeps, & breathes music, but drinks mostly coffee & okay, some wine - sometimes, a little too much. A little too obsessed with the number seven, is deathly afraid of horror movies, believes that she writes better than she speaks, & currently feeling a little strange writing a profile about herself.