The biggest night in the Bollywood calendar is almost here and we are bursting with excitement! The 16th International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) Awards, that recognises talented artistes from the Indian film industry is all set to make it a larger-than-life event.

To be held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, from 5th June – 7th June, IIFA 2015 will see popular Bollywood faces glamming up the red carpet event.

IIFA Awards KL 2015


The 3-day weekend extravaganza will include events like:

  • IIFA Rocks
  • IIFA Fashion Extravaganza
  • IIFA World Premiere
  • IIFA Awards

Just to name a few.

While the fashion event will be hosted by actress Neha Dhupia, IIFA Rocks (the music extravaganza) will be hosted by Ayushmann Khurrana and Parineeti Chopra and it will see some splendid musical performances by Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy, Ankit Tiwari, Mika, and Kanika Kapoor among others.

Sonakshi Sinha will sing live at IIFA Rocks while several Bollywood celebs including Jacqueline Fernandes, Aditi Rao Hydari, Lauren Gotlieb, and Lisa Hayden will be entertaining the audience with dazzling dance performances.

Mumbai: Bollywood actors Arjun Kapoor, Shahid Kapoor, Sonakshi Sinha, Anil Kapoor and Hrithik Roshan during a press conference for the announcement of IIFA 2016 in Mumbai on Thursday. PTI Photo by Mitesh Bhuvad (PTI5_28_2015_000112B) *** Local Caption ***
Bollywood actors Shahid Kapoor, Sonakshi Sinha, Anil Kapoor, & Hrithik Roshan during a press conference. PTI Photo by Mitesh Bhuvad

On 6th June (Saturday), the highly anticipated film of the year, “Dil Dhadakne Do”, will premiere at IIFA. The ensembled cast of the film including Anil Kapoor, Ranveer Singh, Priyanka Chopra, Anushka Sharma, Shefali Shah and Farhan Akhtar will be present at the launch.

On the awards night (7th June), stars like Hrithik Roshan, Shahid Kapoor, Priyanka, Anushka, Farhan, Parineeti, Shraddha Kapoor and Sonakshi will set the stage on fire with their powerful performances. Playing hosts for the awards ceremony are duo Ranveer Singh and Arjun Kapoor, who are known for their amazing comic timing and funny antics.

You can be sure that they’ll definitely entertain and leave the audience in stitches with laugher with their pranks 😉

IIFA 2015 Kuala Lumpur Malaysia


Check out the full list of nominees here:

Best Picture
Viacom 18 Motion Pictures, Vikramaditya Motwane & Anurag Kashyap – Queen
Sajid Nadiadwala & Karan Johar – 2 States
Vinod Chopra Films & Rajkumar Hirani Films – PK
Utv Motion Pictures & Vishal Bhardwaj Pictures – Haider
Sajid Nadiadwala & Imtiaz Ali – Highway
Viacom 18 Motion Pictures & Sanjay Leela Bhansali – Mary Kom

Best Director
Vikas Bahl – Queen
Vishal Bhardwaj – Haider
Rajkumar Hirani – PK
Abhishek Varman – 2 States
Imtiaz Ali – Highway

Leading Role Male
Shahid Kapoor – Haider
Aamir Khan – PK
Arjun Kapoor – 2 States
Hrithik Roshan – Bang Bang
Randeep Hooda – Highway
Shah Rukh Khan – Happy New Year

Leading Role Female
Kangana Ranaut – Queen
Alia Bhatt – 2 States
Priyanka Chopra – Mary Kom
Deepika Padukone – Happy New Year
Rani Mukherji – Mardaani
Anushka Sharma – PK

Supporting Role Male
Ronit Roy – 2 States
Ritesh Deshmukh – Ek Villain
Kay Kay Menon – Haider
Randeep Hooda – Kick
Inaamulhaq – Filmistaan
Naseeruddin Shah – Finding Fanny

Supporting Role Female
Tabu – Haider
Amrita Singh – 2 States
Lisa Haydon – Queen
Juhi Chawla – Gulaab Gang
Huma Qureshi – Dedh Ishqiya

Comic Role
Sharib Hashmi – Filmistaan
Sanjay Dutt – PK
Varun Dhawan – Main Tera Hero
Govinda – Happy Ending

Negative Role
Ritesh Deshmukh – Ek Villain
Nawazuddin Siddiqui – Kick
Kay Kay Menon – Haider

Music Direction
Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy – 2 States
Mithoon-Banjara, Zaroorat & Hamdard, Ankit Tiwari- Galliyan, Adnan Dhool (Soch) – Awari, Rabbi Ahmed-Awari – Ek Villain
Vishal Bhardwaj- for the full album – Haider
Mithoon, Yo Yo Honey Singh, Pritam, Arko Pravo Mukherjee – Yaariyan

Best Story
Vikas Bahl, Chaitally Parmar, Parveez Shaikh – Queen
Chetan Bhagat-Based On A Best Selling Novel “2 States: The Story Of My Marriage” – 2 States
Abhijat Joshi & Rajkumar Hirani – Pk

Manoj Muntashir – Galliyan – Ek Villain
Rashmi Singh – Muskurane – Citylights
Amitabh Bhattacharya – Mast Magan – 2 States

Playback Singer Male
Ankit Tiwari – Galliyan – Ek Villain
Arijit Singh – Muskurane – Citylights
Mika Singh – Jumme Ki Raat – Kick
Sukhwinder Singh – Bismil – Haider

Playback Singer Female
Kanika Kapoor – Baby Doll – Ragini Mms2
Sultana & Jyoti Nooran – Patakha Guddi – Highway
Shreya Ghoshal – Samjhawan – Humpty Sharma Ki Dulhania

As seen in the list above, Alia Bhatt-Arjun Kapoor of “2 States” bagged a whopping total of 9 nominations while National Award-winning film “Haider” has a total of 8 nominations, and Rajkumar Hirani’s “PK” raked in 6 nominations.

IIFA Awards 2015 Kuala Lumpur Malaysia

IIFA Awards 2015 will be held at Stadium Putra in Kuala Lumpur and the tickets for the event are on sale. Those interested in attending the ceremony can hit up My Ticket or call 03-8080 8700 or 017 2447139. To purchase VIP hospitality tickets, e-mail [email protected]

Alternatively, you can also tune in to the awards in HD on 7th June 2015 exclusively on Astro First by pressing the “Red Button” on Channel 488 to purchase now at only RM15. For more information, visit Astro First’s website.

(Featured image from vivaluxe)

Previous article#SisterAct: Disney To Remake ’90s Classic With “Legally Blonde” Writers
Next article#TheXFiles Reboot: “Community” Star Joel McHale Lands Guest-Starring Role
Eats, sleeps, & breathes music, but drinks mostly coffee & okay, some wine - sometimes, a little too much. A little too obsessed with the number seven, is deathly afraid of horror movies, believes that she writes better than she speaks, & currently feeling a little strange writing a profile about herself.