The Killers frontman Brandon Flowers is already a legend without even trying. When he came into the music scene with his band mates in 2004, it never crossed our minds that they are merely going to be another one-hit wonder. The Las Vegas-based band took the world by storm with their debut album “Hot Fuss” and they immediately went on a worldwide concert tour.

With Flowers’ dusty voice, the band brought a refreshing new wave to the music scene with their distinctive music style.

Brandon Flowers


After releasing his debut solo album “Flamingo” in 2010, Flowers teamed up with producer Ariel Rechtshaid (Haim, Vampire Weekend, Sky Ferreira) for his 2nd solo album, “The Desired Effect”. The album is a collection of songs that showed the most sonically diverse and playful side of him. It is set to be released under Island Records on 19th May 2015.

The album was mostly recorded at The Killers’ own Battle Born Studios in Las Vegas. Flowers had a few recording sessions at Heavy Duty and Vox Studios in Los Angeles too. He was joined by a stellar cast of iconic musicians, including Ethan Farmer, Bruce Hornsby, Tony Levin, Kenny Arnof, The Dirty Projectors’ Angel Deradoorian, and Joey Waronker.

Ariel Rechtshaid & Brandon Flowers (Source: wonderingsound)
Ariel Rechtshaid & Brandon Flowers (Source: wonderingsound)

Pet Shop Boys and Neil Tennant joined for a brief drive-by in the Bronski Beat-sampling smash-hit-in-waiting “I Can Change” while his band mate Ronnie Vannucci Jr. and Haim’s singer/guitarist Danielle Haim made guest appearances on drums.

The full track listing for “The Desired Effect” is as follows:

  1. Dreams Come True
  2. Can’t Deny My Love
  3. I Can Change
  4. Still Want You
  5. Between Me And You
  6. Lonely Town
  7. Digging Up The Heart
  8. Never Get You Right
  9. Untangled Love
  10. The Way It’s Always Been

Flowers had a whole heap of fun in the creative process and he reached a new level of songwriting confidence through his new album. He recently released “Can’t Deny My Love”, which is his album’s first single.

The song is now available on all digital service and streaming providers.



For more information, visit his official website or follow him on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.

Previous article#Spectre: James Bond Returns In Teaser Trailer, Hints At Some Dark Secrets
Next article#AmosYee: Police Report Lodged Over YouTuber’s “Lee Kuan Yew Is Dead” Video
Adrina was our former writer and now contributes to Hype. Find out what she's up to on her IG: @moonsglowslow.