As ESPN has proudly put it, “From June 12th through July 13th, the earth will operate on one time zone: World Cup.”

Come 12th June, people from all walks of life will come together to watch the greatest show on Earth – the 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil. Occurring only once every four years, it’s truly a football festival for the young, the old and the curious. Cafes and pubs will magically stay open till late and still be filled to the brim, businesses at restaurants and mamaks will boom in an instant, and surely, a lot of us will suffer from a severe lack of sleep by the end of it.


Come on, you know it’s true! We promise we won’t breathe a word about your long breakfasts, mysterious out-of-nowhere illnesses or “emergency leaves”.

The first game will kick off from Arena de Sao Paulo in Sao Paulo, Brazil on 12th June (Thursday) at 4am Malaysian time and the first two countries to take the pitch are none other than Brazil vs. Croatia. But that’s just for the first game. For your convenience, we’ve compiled a couple of handy guides to the matches!

2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil Groups

Source: bleacherreport
Source: bleacherreport

2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil Bracket

Source: bleacherreport
Source: bleacherreport

As for the matches for each group and country according to time zones, it’s available here. Just make sure you remember to click the blue “Change to your time” link in there!

Where to catch the games, you ask? As follows:

  • Astro – Astro will be broadcasting the 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil! Astro Super Pack customers will be offered a complimentary “Football Pass” to watch all, yes, ALL 64 live matches on five dedicated High Definition (HD) channels and five dedicated Standard Definition (SD) channels on Astro TV and Astro On The Go. Football Pass holders can watch all the matches on tablets, smartphones and PCs via the Astro Go 2014 Fifa World Cup App.
  • RTM – Awesome news for those who cannot afford to watch it on Astro. RTM has been given exclusive terrestrial broadcasting right to 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil and will be airing 35 of the 64 matches. 24 would be telecasted live and 11 would be aired as delayed telecasts in High Definition (HD). The live matches includes Brazil, England, Argentina, Spain, France, Portugal, Italy, Argentina, South Korea, and Japan.

As of now, we don’t know if there’ll be any viewing parties yet but we’ll update this post as soon as we know so keep checking back. Meanwhile, you best prepare yourself for the greatest show on Earth!


For more information, visit the 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil’s official website or their Facebook page.

Previous articleHype’s Now Playing: Jason Mraz – Love Someone
Next article“Me. I Am Mariah.” – Damn Right She Is!
Eats, sleeps, & breathes music, but drinks mostly coffee & okay, some wine - sometimes, a little too much. A little too obsessed with the number seven, is deathly afraid of horror movies, believes that she writes better than she speaks, & currently feeling a little strange writing a profile about herself.