“Oh where do we begin?  The rubble or our sins?”


English rock band, BΔSTILLE first formed in London in 2010 and began as a solo project by singer-songwriter Dan Smith, who then decided to start a band. The four piece rock band is made up of Daniel Smith, Chris Wood, William Farquarson and Kyle Simmons and the band name originated from Bastille Day – an event celebrated on Dan Smith’s birthday, July 14th.


Record label EMI Music offered BΔSTILLE a record contract with Virgin Records in 2012 which led to the release of Bastille’s debut single Overjoyed in 2012. Their second single Bad Blood, which shares the same title as their debut album, followed in August 2012.

BΔSTILLE’s debut album Bad Blood was released in March this year and debuted at the top of the UK Albums Chart, and it’s no surprised as to why it did. Dan Smith displays his talents of story telling right from the beginning of Bad Blood.


Bad Blood is simply beautiful in the sense that it is both entirely predictable but at the same time completely captivating. If you’re a BΔSTILLE fan or  if you have listened to their music before than you would feel the immediate sense of comfort and recognition when you listen to the album. Each track is written with subtle details lying in the lyrics and the album is an exploration of all sounds, from the strings to reinforce emotions, to the touching of piano based sounds to just a complete experiment of various sounds that is set to take listeners by surprise.

Dan Smith certainly knows his what he’s good at and has used his knowledge to create such a wonderful debut album.



  1. Pompeii – 3:34
  2. Things We Lost in the Fire – 4:01
  3. Bad Blood – 3:33
  4. Overjoyed – 3:26
  5. These Streets – 2:55
  6. Weight of Living, Pt. II – 2:55
  7. Icarus – 3:45
  8. Oblivion – 3:16
  9. Flaws – 3:38
  10. Daniel in the Den – 3:09
  11. Laura Palmer – 3:06
  12. Get Home – 3:11

Here’s Pompeii by BΔSTILLE. Enjoy!


Hype.My gives this album an 8/10!

You might also like:

Hype’s Album Review: Miley Cyrus — Bangerz

Hype’s Album Review: Krewella — Get Wet

Hype’s Album Review: Kings Of Leon — Mechanical Bull

Hype’s Album Review: Travis — Where You Stand?

Hype’s Album Review: MGMT — MGMT [2013]

Previous articleA Nostalgic Night Out With The Cotton Field Scarecrowes
Next articleHype’s Now Playing: Marsha Milan — Bebaskan
Bryna spends most of her time obsessing over cars and sports, particularly football while keeping updated with the entertainment scene. From raves to rock concerts, Bryna listens to all sorts of genres and is also a fan of horror and action movies.